shinsuke matsumoto's blog thing.


Everyone loves free share stuff, right? Today I share pretty small stuff for free! It’s not bad for Friday.

This one called ExErrors is to disable/delete the errored expressions. It’s not fancy but I think it’s handy when you encounter a bunch of expression errors like below.

 
[Quick Installation]
Copy “exErrors.jsxbin” file you downloaded and paste it to the “ScriptUI Panels” folder located in the “Program Files\Adobe\Adobe After Effects \Support Files\Scripts (Windows)” or “Applications/Adobe After Effects /Scripts (Mac OS)” folder. If you want to know more about installation, check After Effects Help.

[Quick Explanation]
It’s pretty simple to use. All you need to do is to select layers you want to disable/delete the errored expressions and then, click the Fix Errors button. So the script disables/deletes the errored expressions if layers you selected have the errored expressions.
The script has one more tiny option, Enable All. If you check this, so script will enable all expressions in the layers you selected.

If you have a great script called “ft-Toolbar2” from aescripts, it’s so handy to use this script. Create the new button as Javascript in the setting menu in ft-Toolbar2, and then copy & paste my code into the command field like below. So you can quickly use this little tool.



Above is the initial version of this script but you can see how it works.

 
Anyway, I would much appreciate it if you could give me a feedback. So please don’t hesitate to get in touch with me if you find some errors or better ways. And if you’re interested in my future scripts, please follow me on Twitter. I’ll show you some WIP etc. on there.
If you don’t have time to read my crappy article, please follow & check my codes on my GitHub Gist.

 
[Tiny Inside Story]
I often encounter a bunch of those expression errors and it’s so annoying to fix it. So I finally wrote this little stuff today. By the way, mographer Scott Geersen got in touch with me via twitter and make a suggetion to add “Enable All” feature. So I quickly tweak the code and this is it. Thank you Scott for your feedback!

 
[UPDATE]
I added “Delete All” feature. Now you can delete all expressions in the layers you selected. I think it’s useful when you reset your set up/animation.

 
Download the ExErrors script via Gumroad

4 Responses to “ExErrors Script for After Effects”

  1. Loran GOUY

    Hi, I wanted to download your fantastic script. Yet I read your post, where you explain why you no longer share your work. I totally understand your point of view. Even if I’d like to use your script, as it seems to be so helpful.
    Is there any way to get it somehow?

    Thanks.
    Loran

    Reply
    • beatgram

      Thank you for your comment, Loran.
      I’m sorry but I can’t help you now about my tools. I’m not sure if I’ll share them again in the future but maybe I’ll concentrate on another things from next year.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

